HONG KONG, Germany, Hong Kong | 4 minutes | 2015

All Rot uses photographic reanimation to render the mundane environment of a decaying crazy golf course into a rapturous split-screen experiment in synesthetic cinema.


Monday October 10, 2016

Program #125
Cinémathèque - Salle Principale


Friday October 14, 2016

Program #233
Cinémathèque - Salle Principale


Max Hattler

No biography

Five (HK 2016, music: Gustav Mahler)
III=III (HK/DE 2016, sound: Jean-Gabriel Becker)
Spring Energy (HK/DE 2016, silent)
Shapeshifter (HK/UK/DE 2016, sound: Jean-Gabriel Becker)
All Rot (UK/DE/HK 2015, 4’00”, sound: Matthias Kispert, Max Hattler)
—O| (VE/UK/DE/HK 2015, sound: Abilio Salmerón, Edgar Moreno, Max Hattler)
The Many Faces of Fernando Pessoa (BE/DE/HK 2015, 2’00”, sound: Martins Strautnieks)
Short of the Week: Prismatic (HK/DE 2015, 0’05”, sound: Max Hattler)
Model Starship: Unclear Proof (UK/IT/DE 2014, installation loop, sound: Alexey Devyanin, Eduardo Noya Schreus
A Very Large Increase in the Size, Amount, or Importance of Something Over a Very Short Period of Time (RU/UK/DE 2013, 2’00”, sound/music: Julien Mier)
Unclear Proof (UK/IT/DE 2013, 0’45”, sound: Alexey Devyanin aka Pixelord)
Stop the Show (aka WAR) (UK/ES/DE 2013, 1’00”, sound: Oeo, Max Hattler)
Constant Sky (UK/RU/DE 2013, 11’00” fulldome 360° film, sound: Eduardo Noya Schreus)
X (UK/DE 2012, 6’00”, sound: Eduardo Noya Schreus)
Model Starship (UK/DE 2012, 0’40”, sound: Eduardo Noya Schreus)
Catch (UK/DE/JP 2012, 4’00”, co-directed with Noriko Okaku, music video, music: The Egg)
Nidden Partikel (UK/LT 2012, 1’00” loop, sound: Max Hattler)
Shift (UK/DE 2012, 3’00”, sound: David Kamp)
RE:AX (UK/DE 2011, 1’30”, sound/music: Eduardo Noya Schreus)
VIS Festival Trailer 2011 (UK/DE/AT 2011, 0’55”, music: schmid)
L’Ombelico del Mondo (UK/DE/IT 2011, 6’00” / variable length, concert visuals, music: Jovanotti)
Sync (DK/NL/UK/DE 2010, 9’00”, sound: Dennis van Tilburg)
Your Highness (UK/DE 2010, 3’00”, sound: Xavier Collet)
Spin (FR/UK/DE 2010, 3’55”, sound/music: Eclectic)
1925 aka Hell (DK/UK/DE 2010, 2’00” / loop, sound: Blake Overgaard)
1923 aka Heaven (DK/UK/DE 2010, 2’00” / loop, sound: Adrian Dexter)
Catch (UK/DE/JP 2009, variable, co-directed with Noriko Okaku, concert visuals, music: The Egg)
Nothing (UK/DE/JP 2009, variable, co-directed with Noriko Okaku, concert visuals, music: The Egg)
Where’s Your Head At (UK/DE 2009, 6’00”, concert visuals, music: Basement Jaxx)
AANAATT (UK/DE/JP 2008, 4’45”, music: Jemapur)
ET1: Anticipation (UK 2008, 0’20”, TV ident, music: Richard Martin at Envy)
IKEA: House or Home (UK 2007, 1’00”, commercial, sound: 750mph)
Drift (UK/DE 2007, 3’33”, music: Mark Bowden)
Mount Allen (UK/DE 2007, 3’40”, music video, music: Economy Wolf)
Theme for Yellow Kudra (UK/DE 2006, 3’05”, music: Economy Wolf)
Striper v0.1 (UK/DE 2006, 0’30”, sound: Pablo Gav)
Collision (UK/DE 2005, 2’30”, sound: Max Hattler)
Nachtmaschine (UK/DE 2005, 3’00” director’s cut / 4’00” original, music: Hellmut Hattler)
Everything Turns (UK 2004, 1’15”, sound: Max Hattler)
To Bed (UK/DE 2003, 3’00”, co-directed with Martin Heaton, music video, music: Hellmut Hattler)
Alpraum (UK 2001, 5’00”, co-directed with Martin Heaton, sound: Alex Marten)

distribution and credits

  • Animation June Chu Wing Yan, Chris MacFarlane
  • Sound designer Max Hattler, Matthias Kispert


  • Http://
x Close

Our newsletter

Stay connected

Sign-up for our newsletter to get all the latest Festival news!

Please fill this field Invalid first name
Please fill this field Invalid last name
Please fill this field Invalid email
Send You'll receive an email soon to confirm your subscription to our newsletter You are already subscribed to the newsletter